First Chapters …

1

August 7, 2013 by aoifebrennan

First chapters is a new service for writers and readers. The writers post their opening chapters and readers can browse and read for free. First Chapters site is here

Buy The Cougar Diaries, Part I here (US) or here (UK/IE)

And here are my opening chapters …

 

The Cougar Diaries, Part 1

Aoife Brennan

 

 

Aoife Brennan is a divorced, middle-aged woman living in Dublin. This is a year in her life.

Copyright  Aoife Brennan 2013

The right of Aoife Brennan to be identified as the Author of the Work has been asserted by her in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988. This book is licensed for your personal enjoyment only. This eBook may not be reproduced, re-sold or given away in any form, or by any means except in accordance with the terms of licenses issued by the Copyright Licensing Agency.

All characters and events featured in this publication, other than those clearly in the public domain, are entirely fictitious and any resemblance to any person living or dead, organisation or event, is purely coincidental. Any mistakes are the author’s own. This book is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places and incidents are either a product of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, events or locales is entirely coincidental.

No reproduction without permission. All rights reserved to Aoife Brennan

ISBN 9780956723369


 

For my children

 

 

 

Introduction

 

Life has a way of creeping up unnoticed. Things change and the centre cannot hold. Sometimes change comes in increments, the gravitational force pulling face, skin and protrusions back whence they came. Sometimes it comes unannounced, like a death, a petit mort or a sudden leave-taking. Other times the door is just left open and the accoutrements of a life seep out, almost imperceptibly. But every now and then, life – armed with something as painful as divorce – comes in and whacks the woman in the face like a giant sledge-hammer, shattering confidence, looks, finance and respectability. Especially respectability. The hammer blow shatters the woman and separates her from the bedrock of the community. Now walking a path so narrow and crooked that progress may be backwards, with no maps to guide and no compass to say which is due north, the woman has to find her way back to herself. Where the end point is, no one really knows.

 

 

 

Chapter One

 

The clock ticked softly on the wall of the surgery alongside a shabby collection of peeling posters advertising various medical products. I sat on the chair, my legs crossed. There were five other people ahead of me in the waiting room. I picked up a battered and dated magazine, flicked through the pages and rested it back on my knees. I looked at the page as an illiterate might, my eyes flickering from picture to headline and back. My raincoat was buttoned up although it was not cold. I was sweating slightly. My make-up had the look of being well worn and it was. I had not removed or replaced it since eight o’clock the night before. The dark smudges under my eyes might have been sexy by candlelight but by morning the look was creased and oily.

Semen pooled in my damp panties. I, Aoife Brennan, was thirty-eight and in need of the morning after pill and the coil. This was how a marriage ended.

 

 

My mother and I put our heads together, drawing comfort from our proximity; as children colouring pictures might.  We looked out the kitchen window into the garden. It was early morning and a light dew covered the grass. May had brought showers and cold weather. The pale green of the foliage belonging to an earlier, less verdant month, and there were even straggling daffodils dotted along the edge of the lawn.

I held a mug of coffee in my hand, watching closely the scene outside.  My mother had placed the hot mug into my hand as I arrived, the currency of thankfulness. We now looked out together in quiet worry.  ‘It’s getting worse,’she said. I nodded. ‘I know. It’s the third time this month,’ and followed my mother’s gaze out to the far corner of the garden. There my father sat in the early morning dew on a battered sun lounger that had seen better days. His chair faced east to best catch the rising sun, if the clouds would ever part, and he concentrated as he read yesterday’s paper, glasses on head and stark bollock naked except for a pair of leather slippers. He crossed his legs, the slipper dangling on a bobbing foot as he nodded to an unheard tune.

‘He opened the door to the meter man last week,’ sighed Mum. ‘I didn’t know at the time. I was in the garden and had missed the doorbell. I also didn’t realise your father was having one of his turns. I’m not sure who was more embarrassed, the meter man or me. But Dad just welcomed him in, and made to lead him to the garage until I stopped him.’

‘What does Dr Coleman say?’ but even as I asked, I knew the answer. Dementia or Alzheimer’s; the diagnosis was imprecise and premature. In all other matters Dad was the same as ever. He would not admit or acknowledge any cracks in his mental state and refused point blank to believe he had taken up naturalism. ‘Never did in my youth, so why would I now in my dotage,’ and he joked as if he was far from his dotage, as only a sane man might demand. So why still did a frightened look cross his face? I wondered if he knew something, if he were just in denial, or did he even question what happened to those missing periods in his day?

‘I tried to bring him in,’Mum said, ‘but he refused. Quite bluntly. Maybe you can persuade him?’ She looked sadly at me and I shifted uncomfortably. It was not just my father’s nakedness that disturbed me. In his distracted periods he thought I was his own mother, my grandmother: a familial likeness that upset me now. To be parent to the parent was not something that sat naturally with a child and I was no exception.

I took my father’s dressing gown off the back of the kitchen chair and walked slowly down the garden. As I approached, he shook the paper and rested it conveniently on his lap. Thank God for small mercies I muttered to myself. ‘Come now dad,’ I encouraged him brightly. ‘It’s too cold to sit out here with no clothes on. I’ve told you before. You can’t upset the neighbours and you’ll catch your death of cold.’ As I talked, I lifted him up, wrapping the dressing gown round the thin shoulders and resolutely avoiding looking at his shrivelled manhood. There are some things a daughter should never see and I shuddered, thanking God yet again that I had not followed nursing as a career. ‘Too many body parts to manage’ had been my stance in career advice classes and the stance held still. A vocation they called it at school, like joining the nuns. Neither appealed to me, then or now. He went in as unresisting as a lamb.

I finished my second cup of coffee and was about to leave when dad popped his head around the kitchen door, closely followed by the rest of his, by now, fully clothed body. ‘Hello love,’ he said. ‘What has you here so early? No more trouble at home I hope?’ and a frown creased his brow.

‘No, all quiet at home,’ I replied. ‘Just kids working hard.’

 

 

Quiet at home was good. It was also rare. My two teenage boys did not do quiet. They left tracks across the house like rutting bucks; spilled school bags by the door, kitbags in the utility, coats flung on the banisters, keys, phones, actually I stand corrected, not phones, but every other piece of detritus from their pockets dashed on the hall stand and often following up the stairs to their respective bedrooms like the crumbs from Hansel and Gretel. Of course, I knew better than to follow those crumbs. My entry to their rooms was limited and only out of necessity. Laundry bags collected and cups and dishes gathered up, but I rarely upset the bedding, except to shake or smooth it. I never looked under the bed, under the mattress. I didn’t want to know what lurked beneath.

Once a fortnight the bed linen was chucked out into the hall and clean linen put by their doors. When Denis turned thirteen, his father had said to me that I was no longer to enter my son’s room; that Denis was capable of keeping it clean and making his own bed. Two years later the same held for Andrew. Three months after that, Paul had left but the rule held strong four years on.

Today, the boys were gone when I returned home; Denis to soccer and Andrew to a friend’s. Weekends were busy catching up, acting as a taxi mum, and trying to get the house back in order. By Sunday night, if I was lucky, peace might descend: the washing machine stilled, the ironing folded in baskets, the groceries put away and only the hum of the dish washer running its cycle after the Sunday dinner. The kids often played games in the den, a small room off the hallway, while I watched television in the living room. Old films, documentaries sometimes, the odd reality show when no one was watching. For some reason Made in Chelsea fascinated me; shades of my youth when living in London perhaps. Utter tosh of course but as watchable as a car crash, rubber-necking all the way.

I had also discovered the joys of a smartphone. And the possibility of online dating. The web-hosting company I worked for had banned Facebook and other social media sites, so naturally dating sites were also blocked. At home, I didn’t dare look up dating sites on the laptop, even when I could delete the browsing histories or view sites incognito. It was too worrying in case I forgot to delete the history or missed something and the boys, blackhats in the making, caught me out. With my smartphone I felt safe enough, after all that never left my purse. I’d put up a bland profile on a popular dating site two days ago, with no picture and an obligatory five years shaved off my age, but already it was proving slightly addictive. I checked in with alarming regularity, just to see who might be there. Just lurking at the moment I thought, just lurking. One man, Firefox121, had caught my attention; or rather I had caught his. He was sending me regular messages. It was slightly creepy thinking there was someone on the internet thinking about me. I wasn’t sure if I liked it or not.

In the five years since Paul had left me, I’d been on three dates. The first one was with the local butcher. Trish still laughs so hard over that story and tells me that I missed a good thing there. Trish, who has been my best friend since primary school, is the only one allowed to tease me about men. Actually, she is one of the few friends whom I managed to hang on to since my separation. It is possibly her fearlessness and kindness – a good combination for a lifelong friendship especially when laced with a wicked sense of humour. ‘Think of all the free meat you are missing,’ Trish joked about the butcher, more than once, ignoring my pained expression. I wince every time I remember. Frank had been one of the first people outside the family to know I was separated. My purchasing patterns went from four steaks to three and then over the following months to less expensive cuts. He finally asked me quietly one day as I paid for three pork chops and stewing beef if I was on my own now. I, flustered, said yes and, still flustered, found myself accepting a date.

When I met Frank at the cinema, I half expected him to be dressed in his butcher’s apron. Instead he wore a suit and no tie, but clumsily. His paunch was more noticeable and less welcoming when not covered with the familiar stripy cloth. His breath smelled and his large hands, so capable when carving up slabs of dead animals, looked strangely out of place as they emerged from the slightly short suit sleeves. Hairy and threatening they rested on his legs during the film, and I felt they might rise up and grasp me bodily as if I were a carcass to be butchered. I kept watching them from the corner of my eye, willing them not to move in my direction.

We’d actually bumped teeth when he’d tried to kiss me at the end of a limp awkward evening. Of course, that meant I had to change my butchers afterwards too. Things your mother never told you, I said to Trish. The list of things had been growing at an alarming rate. Never date your butcher would be number one. Now I had to go to the less impressive butcher at the other end of the village, or use the supermarket. Neither really suited me and I fumed at my lack of forethought. Actually, I realised I hadn’t given any thought at all to what it would be like to date again after marriage, full stop. I seemed to have all the necessary baggage to thwart successful attempts at dating. For a start there was my age. Now into myfortiesI am losing that edge that early maturity from the previous decade confers, at least in the aspect of entering into new sexual relations. Then there was the question of having two teenage children, two boys no less. The thought of arriving home with a man in tow other than their father was horrifying; and I am genuinely not sure who would find it more upsetting, my children or I. Finally, there was my own particular deviancy in which I initially accepted dates from men who not only lived too close but who also provided me with much needed local services. As a result my uncritical criteria for potential suitors resulted in the domino-like crashing of local services about me

Yes, for after the butcher, I went on a date with the manager of Tesco. Dandruff speckled his suit collar and he kept on sniffing without using a handkerchief. I met him for a drink first and Derek went on, at length, about his ‘bitch of an ex-wife’, the financial costs of rearing two ungrateful children and finally how lonely he had been. For lonely, I translated afterwards for Trish, read horny. This disastrous date ended up with Derek trying to find his way into my bra while parked in a quiet laneway. ‘You can’t come back to mine,’ I’d told him earlier. ‘The boys.’ The sentence hung in the air like a loaded gun and we both backed away.

Instead Derek had driven around for a bit, whistling tunelessly, his hand on my knee, until he parked up the back of Tesco. The irony was not lost on me. Nor was the fact that as he tried to wrestle with the clasp on my bra, he encountered foundation garments that were having none of it, or rather none of him. He half squashed my left breast as he fumbled to release it. As he drew his mouth down to suck the nipple, I’d had enough. Pushing him back I demanded to be brought home, now. This he did in stony silence, all whistling stopped and with his eyes straight ahead. That put Tesco off limits, on Monday through Thursday anyway, and my boys thought me mad as I often travelled the half an hour journey to Dunnes Stores instead.

Trish had suggested I try dating a candlestick maker next. ‘Make it a full set?’ she said.

‘You have no idea,’ I said without laughing and went on a date with a sailor instead.

Well, he wasn’t actually a sailor. He worked in the charity shop that raised money for the Lifeboat service. His mild manner had appealed to me when I had occasionally dropped off unwanted clothes or books. Shane had invited me for coffee and so we sat in the weak sunshine by the café window. Shane proved to be a free spirit with three children by three different women. He was friendly with all and operated a pleasant lifestyle living with or at least visiting them by rotation. Of course he had no money, very little ambition other than to fish when he was not resting with his trinity of happy families, and enjoyed international film. I decided our relationship might extend to exploring film together but nothing else. Still, I was relieved when he didn’t try to kiss me, other than on the cheek, and I could still visit the shop. This might come in handy I thought as my days of donating were rapidly changing to those of browsing in the charity shop.

It was Trish who pointed out the obvious. ‘Those men are all too close to home. You are shitting on your own doorstep, Sweetie.’ She smiled to soften the language. ‘You need to branch out, take up a new hobby, meet new people who are not in a one-mile radius! There are plenty of fish in the sea.’

‘I have used up all the available single men of my acquaintance already anyway,’ I sighed.

 

 

That night I lay in bed watching television. I had hated having the TV in the bedroom when married, it had been too intrusive or maybe it was just that Paul watched endless sports programmes long after I wanted to go to sleep. Now it felt like an old friend, comfortable and companionable.

I prodded my belly through my soft cotton pyjamas. I squeezed my breasts.  Gravity hadn’t quite finished them off, yet. In fact, I looked better than I had towards the end of my marriage, when food had been a vindictive substitute for love. Pilates and no longer buying Paul’s favourite biscuits had helped too. Now, I didn’t really have the time to sit and eat and I didn’t want to either. Of course, I wondered if I might be attractive to a man. Conversely I wondered if I might actually find a man attractive. The last time I had dated I had been in my twenties. My prospective dates then did not have beer bellies, paunches or varicose veins. They didn’t have reddened cheeks, thinning hair and sagging bottoms. They didn’t have coarse hairs growing in ears, out of noses or tufting in eyebrows.

I picked up my phone and tapped the dating app. There were three new messages, two from Firefox121 and one from Daemon. Yesterday Daemon had said hi, tonight he asked me if I moaned during sex, if I liked anal. I hastily blocked him. Firefox121 asked me about my kids, what age they were. In the next email he asked about my hobbies. I was warming to Firefox121.

‘Ma,’ Denis was standing at the bedroom door and I half-dropped the phone. He stood six feet tall, lanky and long with mad brush hair. He half hopped from one foot to the other. ‘I’ve the school trip tomorrow. Do you have fifty euro?’

Money was increasingly a sore topic. Paul continued to pay the mortgage, but he expected me to pay all the rest. My job in support for a web-hosting company paid well but not enough to cover the extras. Denis wanted to get a part-time job. I was not in favour as he had his leaving certificate next year, but there weren’t any jobs anyway. His hobby of tinkering with cars also ate into any spare cash he might have had.  How like his father in looks he was, I thought as I reached for the wallet beside my bed.

 

 

‘The problem with dating is that I haven’t for ages,’ I said. Trish and I had grabbed our usual Friday lunch. During the summer we liked to buy sandwiches and sit in St Stephen’s Green watching the world go by. ‘I mean aside from my few abortive attempts I haven’t dated a man in nearly twenty years. As for sex,’ I raised my eyebrows. ‘Well, that is the big bottleneck. How am I supposed to take my clothes off and be naked, I mean naked, in front of a stranger?’

Trish laughed, almost choking on her sandwich. ‘With any luck, when you get to that bit, the man won’t be a stranger!’

‘You know what I mean. Sex with a stranger. How can I do it?’

‘Same as you did it with Paul, I guess,’ said Trish and a look of grim horror passed over my face. ‘Ok, scrap that thought. With plenty of alcohol, lights out and romantic music in the background.’

‘I just can’t imagine it. Do people still do it the same way I wonder?’

‘Don’t look at me,’ Trish laughed, ‘I’m still married and therefore don’t count.’

We sat for a bit in quiet. When I next spoke it was to remark upon a particularly pretty dress a young woman passing by was wearing. ‘You don’t fool me,’ said Trish. ‘You’re still thinking about sex. I can tell.’

‘I’m thinking that if I don’t use it, do I lose it?’

‘It, or rather you, don’t have a ‘best by’ date.’

‘I feel as though I do though,’ I sighed. ‘I feel horribly old. Just as I feel that maybe I’d like to start dating again, I wonder if anyone could possibly want me.’

 

 

When Paul first left and had been gone for just over three months, I still refused to believe my marriage was truly over. My first reaction was to remove my rings and bag up his clothes, CDs and other paraphernalia. The second was to come off the pill. Despite much arguing he’d refused to have the snip. I’d been advised not to have the operation, something complicated to do with my insides, and I baulked at having a coil fitted. Throwing out the pill was like an act of freedom, of rebellion, but the freedom of the separation came at such a high price. I watched my boys hurting daily. Denis said nothing, but Andrew would say small throwaway things, inconsequential things that made me angry, upset and furious.

Paul’s leaving had devastated me but I hadn’t been happy in the marriage either. It was as if both of us were pulling apart with bungee ropes in opposite directions. The knock-over blow when we reached the end of the stretch was catastrophic but not unwelcome if I was being honest. I had tired of Paul. Of his habits, his arrogance, his monotone when he lectured me about anything. But I looked at my boys and I wept. I thought I would give it one last throw of the dice.

Denis was in Cork for a match and so I arranged for Andrew to stay with my parents. It was three months to the day since Paul had left and he was coming by to collect his books. We hadn’t spoken much since his departure. He had said he didn’t love me anymore and that he had found someone else: bare facts that didn’t need dressing up. It was very clinical and final.

Thinking of the single die in my hand I felt hollow and nervous but then I thought again of my children. I prepared one of my husband’s favourite meals. I wore a low cut blouse. I opened wine. When Paul stopped by, he raised an eyebrow, but he drank the wine and he ate the food and he took the sex offered him on a plate by his wife. He even stayed the night. Afterwards I lay stiff beside him listening to his familiar breathing. I felt cold and defeated, like a reclaimed prisoner. I finally fell asleep, a patchy and unsatisfying sleep spiked with unremembered dreams. When I woke, he was in me again; a mechanical and silent coupling. A coupling that spoke of daily routines, fixing the washing machine, putting out the bins, and cold dinners reheated in the microwave.  He grunted and came, no words, no kiss, no caress. He rolled off me, and sat at the edge of the bed. ‘This makes no difference at all,’ he said coldly. Then he dressed and left.

Dry-eyed, I went to the surgery for the morning after pill and to have a coil fitted. ‘What happened?’ my doctor asked in some confusion. ‘The end of my marriage,’ I said.

 

 

Chapter  Two

 

Firefox121 definitely fancied me but that was without the benefit of a photograph, his or mine.. I wondered at the speed at which internet exchanges moved and the sincerity they promised. Three days into exchanging some of what I felt were preliminary and clarifying messages, he started to delve a little deeper into my physical rather than my emotional state. On Friday morning he had asked when I had last been intimate with a man. After lunch I got a message asking what particularly turned me on. I dithered for a bit over what answer to give, finally responding and saying a candle-lit dinner although I knew he was asking about sexual preferences. I began to laugh at such exchanges. What turned me on? I didn’t even know where the start button was, let alone how to crank it up. I half groaned to myself. Even my terminology was old-fashioned. Crank it up? That’s how they started automobiles in the 1940s.

Brian, the operations manager, passed my desk. ‘Good joke?’ he asked. I looked at him. ‘Oh, just the weather Brian. It’s glorious. Puts a smile on anyone’s face.’ He murmured assent and kept walking. I looked down at the phone in my hand. Was it true that men thought about sex every three minutes? I hadn’t thought about sex for the best part of four years since Paul had left me, and, to be honest, not much before then either. After the initial shock of the separation Trish had bought me a rampant Rabbit. I had been horrified at the well-meaning but ill-timed present. It lay hidden in the deepest corner of my knicker-drawer still in its original packaging. Recently, in the past month or so, sex had begun to dominate my thoughts like the proverbial elephant in the room. And just in the same way that that blasted stubborn elephant was all grey, wrinkly and cumbersome, the thoughts of sex were equally unsexy. It was like an obstacle to be got over or under or something. It’s like losing my cherry all over again I’d said to Trish, only second time round it seemed more daunting.

Firefox121 came back. The app flashed on my phone to say I had a message. Would I like to meet for a drink this weekend? Before I had time to think, I answered yes. Damn it, yes I would.

 

 

Timing is everything. Too soon and you are kept waiting. Too late and you can miss your chance. The boys were both away on Saturday night. Denis was off to his girlfriend’s family’s holiday home in Rosslare; Andrew had a friend’s birthday party and sleepover that night too. With my unexpected late pass, I had arranged to meet Firefox121 at Noggins Bar. Just far enough away from home not to bump into friends and not sofar as to be a major trek. We still hadn’t exchanged photographs which I was beginning to think might have been a mistake. Still, it was a date and whatever way it went, I consoled myself I wouldn’t be jeopardising local services or shopping venues.

‘Ma, Ma, Ma, MA’ Andrew said in a crescendo as I drove him to his friend’s house. ‘We need to buy some sweets for the sleepover.’

‘But you have the present. We don’t need to buy sweets as well?’ Apparently we did because Michael’s mother, while happy about the sleepover, had banned sweets, believing them to be drugs for the very young. She was right I thought looking at the collection of brightly coloured sweets that Andrew was now cramming into his overnight bag.

‘Remind me not to have a sleepover for your birthday,’ I said.

‘Not a chance,’ said Andrew. ‘The boys say you are a cougar.’

I nearly choked. ‘What did you say?’

Andrew looked at me darkly but refused to expand on the topic. ‘I’m not having a sleepover in my house,’ he said.

I tried to hug my son at his friend’s house but he resisted as Michael opened the door.  I stepped back from the awkward, missed embrace ‘Enjoy your party,’ I said instead as brightly as I could. I wondered if Michael’s grin was cheekier than I’d remembered but both boys scampered inside ignoring me. I waved good bye to the already closed door and put the nonsense out of my head; I’d more important things to worry about, such as what I would wear that evening.

 

 

‘Oh my God,’ I said out loud in frustration. I had by now at least six outfits on the bed, discarded like empty water bottles. I had tried on several sets of bras and knickers, at least one piece of foundation underwear and now was sweating hotly. I knew exactly how I would dress if I was meeting Trish and Tom, but the thought of a date had made me rethink everything. Would he want to kiss me at the end of the night? Would he put his hand on my waist? If I wore Spanx, would he feel it? ‘Oh my God,’ I groaned out loud again.

Muttering through clenched teeth that it was just a date I climbed into my favourite short dress and leggings. No foundation underwear just in case. I had spent the previous hour de-foresting my body, applying creams, scrubbing at stubborn cellulite, painting my toenails, styling my hair and sucking in my belly. The finished product wasn’t too bad I had to admit, so why did I feel so nervous?  I really wished I’d seen a photograph of Firefox121 in advance. Stupidly, my hopes were oscillating like a ping pong ball. As I drove to the pub I had visions of Michael Fassbender alternating with Danny DeVito. Ironically neither thought gave me much comfort.

I’d told Trish at the last minute. It was best to be safe in case Firefox121 turned out to be an axe-wielding nutter, and I promised to ring Trish the minute I got home. ‘What harm can happen?’ I asked. ‘We are meeting in a public place. I’m not drinking. He sounds nice. It’s just two adults having a chat, that’s all.’

Trish just wolf-whistled down the phone. It wasn’t a good omen I felt.

 

 

Firefox121 was ten years older than claimed and at least two stone heavier. He did not have an athletic body unless you counted pie-eating a sport, and it was hard to confirm the blond hair colour claimed in his profile from the few strands that floated over his practically bald pate. He reminded me of Father Byrne except that he also had six children, another fact he had conveniently omitted in his profile.

There were so many reasons not to fancy him that I relaxed immediately. The nerves all went ‘poof’ and I listened with interest to his stories of his ex-wife, all sounding strangely familiar. I even found myself arguing the ex-wife’s case on a couple of points much to his annoyance and I could sense him getting irate. Three Seven-Ups later, while he had three pints, I felt the leave-taking arrive and prepared to retreat with grace.

‘Oh, you have the car,’ said Roger. ‘That’s great. You can drop me home.’

My mouth opened and shut. It was as if he’d assumed the husband role and, even as I paused, I knew I was doomed. A short sharp ‘No’ would have done the trick but the pause hung me. ‘That’s great,’ he said knocking back the last of his pint. ‘But since you’re driving, let’s have one more.’ Again a short sharp ‘No’ would have done the trick but his sheer audacity floored me. Three more pints later – I’d refused to imbibe any more sickly sweet drinks – Roger declared it a great night and grabbed his coat. ‘I’m only over the road,’ he said.

Over the road was not strictly accurate. Indeed, I wondered if accurate was a term he understood, let alone employed. Over several roads and twenty minutes later, I pulled up beside a small row of shops. ‘I’m above the bakery,’ said Roger. ‘The kids and ex are in the big house. I don’t have much left over.’

I declined the offer of a nightcap, more Seven-Up, and parried a lunging attempt at a kiss. He must have known he’d used up his luck because his attempt to kiss me was half-hearted at best. ‘Thank you for a lovely night, darling,’ he said leaving the car and my life in a single, unsteady movement.

 

 

Chapter Three

 

‘The trouble with men is that they are men,’ said Trish. ‘They don’t do change. They need women to mind them and, if they lose their own, they are happy to move on to the next, regardless of who she is.’

I neither agreed nor disagreed. I felt flat. The effort of dating could be better spent cleaning the house, going to see a film or just watching Made in Chelsea. ‘I don’t think there are any suitable ones left. They all seem to be used up,’ I sighed. ‘Used up, bitter and saggy. Just like me,’

Trish held up her hand. ‘Stop! You’re a gorgeous creature. You’ve hardly a wrinkle on your face. Your figure is great and you are a fun person. What you need to do is take up a new hobby, go on a singles holiday or hire an escort!’

‘I think the last option takes money. And I don’t think the boys would appreciate my diverting funds for school trips to pay for sex.’

‘I can see there might be an impediment to that. You need to be rich to buy men. Or…’ a thoughtful look crossed Trish’s face. ‘Or you could be a MILF.’

‘A what?’

‘You know, a Mummy I’d like to fuck. There are loads of young men who would love to pair their energy with your experience. It’s all the rage nowadays. Think of Demi Moore or Madonna.’

I could feel a look of horror passing over my face. ‘Yes, and look at how their lives have turned out. I’m not that woman, ‘I said, ‘I’m a separated woman in my forties with two boys and I’m never going to date again, let alone have sex.’

‘That’s the wrong approach,’ said Trish. ‘We need to adjust your thinking. It’s time for a makeover.’

Which is how I came to be lying on the treatment table having my bits waxed. I’d refused the Vajazzling option but somehow was getting a Brazilian. My protests that I didn’t need all my hair removed had been brushed aside by Trish and the very efficient beautician. ‘Just a little landing strip,’ the beautician said. ‘It’s very popular. Totally bare is going out of fashion. A small amount of hair is currently the fashion. It’s easy to maintain too.’

I groaned again, a mixture of pain as the beautician tore away another strip of hair horribly close to my pink bits but also of sheer disbelief. ‘Landing strips? Maintenance? Fashion statements down below? I couldn’t decide if I sounded more like an aircraft carrier, a bijou garden or a lingerie model. ‘Now turn over,’ said the beautician, ‘and hold your hand here.’ I felt myself blush a deep red as the few rogue hairs around my anus were briskly removed. ‘Now, you’re ready for action,’ she said. Oh dear Lord I thought. Action? There? Life was so much simpler when one was married and sex consigned to Saturday night and the strictly missionary position. What was I letting myself in for? Did everyone have action there?

Trish was not much help. ‘Remember I’m married, Sweetie. Married people do things differently. Being single is a whole new country. And you’re going to explore and report back!’

I squirmed on my chair. We were having a coffee afterwards and the new sensation down below was, I had to admit, different, pleasant and sort of free. ‘But first we need a new look on the outside for you,’ continued Trish. ‘Hair, then make-up, then clothes.’

It was definitely a style. Before when I washed my hair, I tended to let it dry naturally. This was a style and would require tools to maintain it: a hairdryer and straightener and definitely a new brush. Mousse, hair gel and hairspray by the looks of things too. It did look good though. ‘You look about thirty five now,’ said Ian. He was tall, skinny and very gay. ‘You look sexy too,’ he added. ‘Very have-able!’

I blushed for the second time that day, but I agreed. It did look good. I did look good.

The make-up department in Arnott’s was impressive. Trish and I browsed the stands like tourists before stopping at the Benefit range. Then I was perched on a stool and had my skin analysed by a pretty blonde with a tool kit of brushes at her waist. My claims that I didn’t really do make-up, just a touch of mascara, were firmly put to one side. In fact, I didn’t realise there was so much to make-up. When had it got so complicated? I was given a lecture on exfoliating properly. ‘That will get rid of your dead skin on your face, make you look younger and your skin clearer,’ I was told. Then there was primer and foundation and blusher and powder and brushes and eye-liner and shadow and mascara and finally a dusting of bronzer.

The bill for the make-up quite frankly shocked me. ‘I’ve never spent so much on make-up before,’ I said. I thought of Denis needing new trainers. That wasn’t going to happen this month, at least not before I was paid. As if Trish could read my mind, she patted my arm. ‘It’s an investment,’ she purred. ‘In you. Because you’re worth it!’

I drew the line at shopping for clothes in the same shop. Instead we detoured to TK Maxx. Trish fluttered around me presenting dresses and blouses like a professional shopper. Finally we settled on two outfits for me to try: an electric blue wraparound dress that gave me a nice cleavage and a slim waist, and a little black number, very short. ‘You have the legs, so you gotta sweat your assets girl,’ Trish murmured approvingly. ‘Now all we need is the man!’

 

 

Chapter Four

 

‘Aoife, can you come around now? I need your help.’ My mother’s voice sounded weak and tiny. It reminded me of a little bird. I frowned again. This was the second time this week. What had he done now?

I hurried around and found my mother in the kitchen trying to distract my dad. With my arrival, he stopped looking for his car keys and meekly went upstairs to get dressed, wrapping the dressing gown firmly around him. Mum waited until she heard him close the bedroom door before explaining what he had done. It transpired that he had driven to the shops to get his paper, naked. The Pakistani shop-keeper had managed to keep his cool and got dad, plus newspaper, back into his car in double quick time and then, leaving his flustered wife to man the shop, he’d driven dad home. Paper placed strategically on his lap. Mr Patel engaged dad in conversation, hoping he would not read the news until he got home. Mum thanked Mr Patel, wrapping dad in his dressing gown as he got out of the car. Fortunately his predilection for nakedness did not extend to footwear as his feet were firmly encased in his old leather slippers. ‘He might have done himself a mischief,’ Mr Patel had said. Mum had smiled weakly and offered to drive Mr Patel back, but he declined. He’d walk through the lanes and it would take only a few minutes on the return journey. ‘I’m glad Trevor took the car really,’ Mr Patel had observed. ‘I’ll enjoy the exercise, but I have to say it’s a long walk without clothes.’

I drank a cup of tea with my mother. ‘An alarm maybe? For when he leaves the house?’ Mum shook her head. ‘I can’t imagine that working. The only pattern I can see is that he does it early in the morning. But this is the first time he has left the house with nothing on. Imagine if he had gone anywhere else, like the golf club?’

I groaned. ‘Mum, you’ll have to call the doctor. Maybe there is medication or something. Or is he allergic to anything? Is there some way of switching him out of it?. A pill or injection perhaps.’

‘Who’s ill?’ said my father by the kitchen door and I jumped. I hadn’t heard him coming down the stairs.

‘How are you, Dad?’ I said, looking at him closely.

‘Fine, just fine.’ He spotted the newspaper on the table. ‘Oh, you brought me the paper – how kind, Aoife. I was just going to get it myself.’

‘Well, I was passing the newsagents,’ I said looking at my mother. We both realised that he hadn’t a clue that he had been out gallivanting in the nip that morning, much less that he had brought the paper home himself.

My father picked up it up and went on through to the living room. ‘Your hair is nice too love,’ he said as he went. ‘Makes you look younger. Fresher.’

Mum looked at me now too. ‘Sorry dear, I didn’t notice in all the commotion. It is nice. Suits you.’

I blushed thinking of the man-hunt plan. ‘Yeah, Trish introduced me to her hairdresser. A nice guy called Ian. A new pair of hands makes all the difference.’

I prepared to leave. I put my cup in the sink and turned back to my mother. ‘You know, Mum, maybe get the papers delivered. That might stop the early morning roaming.’

 

Want more?

Buy The Cougar Diaries Part I here (US) or here (UK/IE)

 

One thought on “First Chapters …

  1. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate
    it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,249 other followers

One Percent Perspiration

- a Ciarán West joint

Dad and Buried

Always going further than most fathers

nottoojazzy

The blog of a professional Sass Queen

Penelope Jones

Little bit of Nice and a Whole lot of Naughty!

Erotica Everywhere

Life should be fun & fun should be everywhere!!

The Honest Courtesan

Frank commentary from an unretired call girl

The Cougar Diaries

Thoughts of a woman, random.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

